three books i loved (which means you should read them)

My favorite question is “what should I read next?” because I always want friends to read what I just loved.  Although if they don’t love it also, it can be tense.

A Man Called Ove: A Novel  by Fredrik Backman I hadn’t even heard of this book when a friend offered to loan it to me over the winter holidays this year. I loved it. It was touching and funny.  I fear the inevitable movie because I love the main characters so much.

Bellweather Rhapsody by Kate Racculia I bought and sent this one to my brother after I read it because I want him to read it that much. It’s a great mixed up genre type book – part of coming of age/coming out, part mystery, part “stuck in an old hotel during a snowstorm” and it totally worked for me. It didn’t hurt that the teenagers were roughly my generation and mentions discmans.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel  I’m not sure how to describe this book well. I almost didn’t keep reading it because the first chapter didn’t impress me. I am so very glad I kept reading because it’s definitely great. I thougth it said so much about people, the arts, community.  Wonderful and has stayed with me.

Leave a Reply

